From the Council President

Council President Scott Hess

Hi staff, members, and community, 

As president and spokesperson for the council, I would like to give a wholehearted thanks to the staff for the incredible dedication and perseverance they have shown over these long and trying months. Our members and guests should also be commended for adhering to the safety rules and showing support for our staff.  We have been able to shop with the assurance that safety has been the top priority. 

Hunger Mountain Co-op’s Annual Meeting will be taking place virtually on Thursday, November 12 at 6 pm. Please look for upcoming details. Be assured it will be an informative and fun event as always. 

On the Annual Meeting agenda:  

  • The candidates for council elections have been set. Four out of the nine council seats are open this year, with Catherine Lowther, Deb Robinson, Andrew Sullivan, and Steven Farnham running in the election. 
  • The recipients who are awarded grants from the Hunger Mountain Cooperative Community Fund will be announced, in addition to the Hunger Mountain Cooperative Community Award honoree.  
  • The diversity committee is working on a mission statement and investigating various programs for staff and members to participate in.  

The council usually holds its meetings on the first Monday of each month at 5:30 pm (currently virtually, see meeting agenda for details). All meetings are open to any member, and the agenda and approved minutes are posted here and on the bulletin board as you exit the store. 

As always, please contact any council member with any questions or suggestions. Thank you for supporting our co-op. 

Take care and best of health, 

Scott Hess, Hunger Mountain Co-op Council President